SailNet Community banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I am new to sailing, I was reading " My First Sailboat: How to Find and Sail the Right Boat for you" by Daniel Spurr.(a very informative book) When the author talks about catamarans, he states that catamarans can be " snappy" in choppy waters. I know Long Island can have some choppy waters at times. Can anyone tell me what exactly "snappy" would mean, and would anyone recomend or discourage sailing a catamaran in Long Island waters. I am new to sailing and any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I'll also take any advice on sailing schools on Long Island:confused:

·
Registered
4,304 Posts
I guess he means fast

And it would depend on how big you want ,trailer and 18'(wet) or a big cat left in the water (big dollars)

On small it works out better on the south shore because the state ramps have equal access to the water ON the North shore it is all controlled buy each TOWN and the ramps are so far from the sailing area it is a PITA

·
Registered
372 Posts
He's talking about the tendency to hobby horse, or a tendency to bounce fore-aft faster than a similar size monohull. With less ballast a typical cat will be more affected (generate more motion) in smaller waves. If you go watch some videos of ocean going cats you can see they tend to bounce a little faster. It's a tradeoff though since you have much less side to side motion.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank You for your replies,

I have the dream of sailing the eastern coast and just wondering what everyone thinks. I live on the south shore of Long Island, but I also have family on the north shore ( Southold ) I have sometime before I retire and fullfilling my dream of sailing the eastern coast.

If money was not an issue ( and no I am not wealthy!) Would you recomend a monohull over the multihull for the NY area.

·
moderate?
996 Posts