SailNet Community banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi im a college student interested in finding a live aboard boat. I was hoping some of you could help me. ive been researching sailboats for the past three days (almost nonstop) and still have little clue what will work for me.

my ideas:
1. a liveaboard boat (has a working head, galley and berth)
2. can fit in a normal slip
3. something reasonably fast
4. needs to be cheap, hopefully under 10,000 us
5. can be handled with 1 or 2 people
4. can be bought near LA
5. used boat would be best but i would also "consider" building

also i was interested in a cat or tri... is this possible with my needs?

is there anything else i should consider or you need to know??? thanks for any help!

·
██▓▓▒▒░&
13,645 Posts
koosh, use the search engine.

Fast and cheap are contradictions, and sailboats aren't houseboats. You can live aboard a sailboat, but it you want a cheap place to live, a houseboat might work out better.

$10,000 US will buy you something small and old and in need of another $20k in work, especially if you aren't familiar with the ways that a cheap old boat can be a very expensive hole in the ocean.

Not that I don't wish you luck--but read up threads on this topic, the odds are better for a disaster than a jackpot.

·
Registered
1,000 Posts
You don't have enough money to do what you want to do. Think seriously about the houseboat suggestion, or save up another 25 or 30 thousand.

·
Registered
452 Posts
You don't have enough money to do what you want to do. Think seriously about the houseboat suggestion, or save up another 25 or 30 thousand.
I’d say he doesn’t have knowledge, skills and dedication.
Money is a secondary thing in this picture and 10 grand is a huge amount of money in right hands.
Anyway, I think that sailnet is under troll's attack.

·
Not Finished Yet
829 Posts