SailNet Community banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Banned
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, about to clean my sails at home, I am wondering how you seasoned sailers do this, such as what cleaner you use? and how you apply the cleaner.
I was going to hang the sail on the clothes line and spray the soap/cleaner on the sail let it sit for a bit and then rinse thoroughly. Am I going about this the right way?

Thanks for any tips and techniques., yes I am new to doing this.

·
Freedom isn't free
3,057 Posts
I'd like to hear as well.... but I recall someone saying use a 33 gallon trash can to wash them in.

·
Registered
778 Posts
It's best, if possible, to keep the sails as flat as you can so as not to crease them, whether they're Dacron or laminate. So spread them out on a deck, or in a grassy area. Yacht clubs aren't good for much, but they often have an area ripe for sail cleaning.

Spray down, and then with a soft brush, scrub the soap on. We always used Biz with its enzyme bleach. Rinse. Flip over, then do the other side.

Now if possible, it's nice to hang the sail by its corners and rinse it and leave hung to dry. If you have access to a tall building or some trees you can rig a tackle to hoist the sails.

·
Registered
5,067 Posts
Here's a process for woven dacron sails that Ive been using for many many years for outstanding results. Its similar to the same 'washing' process for new (greige) polyester fabrics during manufacture.
This process extracts most dirt, funguses (those millions of 'teeny black spots') and 'brown' staining from tannins and iron.
For WHITE Woven dacron only, NOT for dacron 'laminates' or other laminates: