SailNet Community banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Captnscrub
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to sailing and trying to find a boat that I can work on fixing up with my son so that we can learn to sail. I found a Columbia 28 for sale in my area for $500. It is in the water and does not come with a trailer. It comes with one sail (main) and a diesel engine (it has not been started in awhile owner was not sure if it would run but thought it would). It has a clear title and sound hull. I am going to inspected tomorrow morning and I was hoping I could get an idea what to look for. Any suggestions from Columbia owners would be great. Any suggestions from anyone would be great. – Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
1,139 Posts
It takes a great deal of expertise to properly inspect (survey) a 28 foot sailboat. Have it surveyed by the best surveyor you can find in your area.

Even a $500.00 boat needs a proper survey prior to purchase. So do free boats of that size. There are often problems lurking in used boats that can be very expensive to remedy, and you can easily exceed what it might have cost to buy a similar boat in good, sail-away condition. Elbow grease is cheap, but sailboat parts are anything but.

·
Registered
50 Posts
When I was a catamaran sailor we used to say there is no such thing as a free boat. I think that applies now to the nth degree. I was offered a similar boat, after I totaled winches, sails , boom, standing rigging, running rigging, haul out, inspection, you name it. I spent more money and bought one in better shape.

·
Registered
3,262 Posts
My initial thought is that a $500 boat this size means you are just buying the slip, and the boat is headed to the junk yard. Of course I haven't seen it, or even pictures, but my gut is saying you need to budget $20,000 to get this boat back in shape, and it could be much more.

1) non working engine. My guess is $10k for a repower by the time you are all said and done
2) new jib $2k