SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I have been beating the bushes in the New England area for a 35 to 38 footer.
I have just sold my sabre 28 that I spent the last two years restoring. I am not looking for a project boat. A little cosmetic work is O.K. (even some soft spots in the deck). My price is up to 55k. I have run the gauntlet of Tartan 37s, Bristol 35.5s, Niagara 35s and a beautifully maintained 1974 Pearson 39.
I have raced on many C&Cs and fing them generic.

I have been sailing for over 40 years and can not stand the new generation of suppositories with sticks !!!

I will be weekending, week to two week cruising and if life works out maybe a month to go south. I enjoy the occasional race The lion share of my sailing will be in the New England area. I want a boat that is comfortable, but does well in light air.

I have recently come across a Contessa 35 in great shape. She was owned by a guy who new the right way to take care of a boat. Turn Key with lots of new gear. Westerbeke diesel and a very good sail inventory. She has been set up with roller furling and all running rigging led to cockpit with self tailing
winches. She has oversized self tailing primaries.

My thought is, a mostly retiered one tonner that can be sailed short handed
could be a great light air summer sailing boat.

My problem no one seems to know anything about the 35. The Contessa 32 is world famouse for many good reasons. Any thoughts out there?

Thank You and Thank God (and Al Gore) for the internet.

·
Registered
5,680 Posts
I don't know much about the Contessa 35, except they were an early IOR boat. My understanding is that some of the early IOR designs were not as maligned as later ones.

In your price range I would also suggest looking at the Canadian Sailcraft (CS) boats, particularly the 36.

P.S. Thank the Department of Defense (specifically, DARPA) for the Internet.;)

·
19,488 Posts