SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Lost on the water...
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am new to boating and keep my boat near Detroit. About 50-75% of the time I go out I cross into Canadian waters or just pass though while in the channel of the Detroit River. I have been told that most of the nice places to anchor in my area are in Canadian waters (Not staying overnight just somewhere for the kids to play in the water/beach for a few hours).

I'm unclear what the customs requirements are for these situations? My understanding is I'm supposed to let them know I'm there via phone. I was wondering what other folks do about this? I heard of several programs from boaters around my dock that most folks can't remember the name of and have not enrolled in yet that allow you to get a sticker or card of some sort to make these calls easier as I'm not real excited about requiring everyone that comes out with me to have a passport nor do I really want to keep my family's passports on board the boat all the time.

What are other folks that boat on Lake Erie doing other then ignoring the rules as I have been for the last month or maybe this is the norm (not sure of the consequences)?

I found something called CANPASS, which looks like could be the program folks were talking about and it would cost $80 a year for my wife and I (kids under 18 free), is anyone using this and is it worth it and what about guests on board? :CANPASS – Private Boats

·
Registered
2,708 Posts