SailNet Community banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
679 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As I posted elsewhere some time ago, we have a dilemna with our davits. Our B49 "got back," so to speak. With the transom so wide and so open, the davit arms need to be installed very far outboard, about 14' apart actually. This means that the dink we are going to hoist is going to be too short so that the falls won't drop in line, or anything close, to the lifting rings in the dink. I've been noodling for a while as to what to do. A spreader bar won't work because we want to hoist the engine on the dinghy, and the motor would interfere with the spreader bar. We've come up with a few other ideas that won't work either (I'm an expert at that). Finally, I inquired of Edson (makers of the davits) if there's a way to make the "connecting bar" (the bar that goes between the two davit arms) strong enough to withstand the load of lifting the bow of the dink. I would line up the stern of the dink, with motor, with one davit arm as you normally would do, but then hoist the bow of the dinghy from a tang welded to the connecting bar, rather than the other davit arm (because of the distance). See my pathetic drawing below. I've also included a picture of the stern with the davits (though no connecting bar), just so you can see the setup.

Edson came back that they can make the connecting bar as a truss, and thereby gain the necessary strength and rigidity to allow our proposed setup to work. I've asked them to shoot me a drawing of the proposed truss, just to make sure the thing is not a total eyesore, but it might be our solution.

Any thoughts from esteemed Sailnutter friends?

·
Wandering Aimlessly
22,036 Posts
While any configuration seems like it will prove cumbersome, I would suggest a rectangular frame the length of the distance between the davits (so it fits on either side of the motor) to which the dink is secured, then raised.

·
Registered
201 Posts
Dan,