SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, totally noob question, but it seems crazy to me that all three batteries would be dead. I have 1 starter battery and two (large) house batteries. I'm still learning how to monitor/maintain all the systems on this still (fairly) new boat to me. Last year I never had a problem with the batteries and kept the boat plugged in while at the dock.

I've never used a digital multimeter before, but bought one for the boat that I could use while learning how to trouble-shoot/maintain the various systems on the boat.

So I drive up to the boat today to do some things prior to launch and one of the first things I want to do is test the batteries with the new multi-meter. I didn't have the boat plugged in, and nothing was on in the boat. The starter battery read 1.357 volts, house battery 1 read 1.632 volts, and house battery 2 read 1.357 volts. The previous owner installed a fourth battery (small like the starter battery), and it actually read 12.99 volts. So what the heck? Are the batteries toast and why would they have crashed over winter? The boat's been in indoor heated storage so it's never gotten below 40 degrees. I go up to the boat about once a month in the off-season and plug in the battery charger for at least 2 hours.

So after I took these readings I plugged the boat in. I have a Link 2000 Xantrex battery monitor, and it went throughthe AC In, Charge, Accept, and Float cycle until it stayed green in the Float cycle. Both house batteries read on the Xantrex around 13.35 to 13.45 volts.

Any advise or insight is appreciated. I've seen what house batteries can cost and I'm not eager to shell out $400+ for each battery. :(

·
Registered
337 Posts
Possible that you got a bad reading of the voltages. One has to ensure that real contact is established. Propose you re-do the measurements, all three to have such low readings?