SailNet Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I am new to the forum and am in need of some advice. I am new to boats, at least when it comes to the structure and such. I had a survey done of a Endeavour 32, 1975, and what happened is beyond perplexing, at least to me. the hull is in great shape, the interior, engine and rigging are in great shape, but when the deck was moisture metered, it got funny. First, it was tapped with the plastic hammer all over, at the mast, and on the fore deck, the survey heard something, i could hear a slight change in timber of the rap, but I took it for the fact the hull was not supported in the middle and that it was just a structural change in sound, and it was a very slight change. the best way to describe it is the sharp rap went to a deeper rap, no thudness to it, just a deeper percussion. well, out comes the moisture meter, sovereign, it reads 18-25 in about a 3 foot radius section around the mast. while doing this, his meter broke, it stopped reading except for an occasional blip that would be off scale. The marina had a spare one he borrowed, a skipper model this time, and it read the same 18-25% until the battery died. we then swapped the battery form the sovereign to the skipper and it now read 12-15%. the surveyor told me the battery was going on this one too, that's why it was reading low. he then,by taps alone said there were major issues int he foredeck as well. the owner was flabbergasted. He had unstepped the mast, the only hardware anywhere near the high moisture reading, it was good at the handholds, and had rebedded it with 5200. there was no hardware withing 2 feet of the place the surveyor showed me on the foredeck. the decks are solid, i weigh in t 250 and i had no flexing at all of the deck, there was not a single soft spot, and also, the owner drilled a hole to look at the wood itself near the mast. The wood was dry as a bone to my hand and it also looked like n