SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
474 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Simple questions as I am new to boat ownership. Is the diesel fuel I buy at the fuel dock essentially the same I can buy at the gas station? I would like to be able to top off the tank on the boat without having to motor/sail the 5 miles to the nearest fuel dock.

And, is there a recommended stabilizer that should be put in diesel tanks (both on the boat and container at the house/dock)? I do know about the organicide, which I already use.

·
Telstar 28
993 Posts
Yes, the fuel is essentially the same, but many marinas will have policies against re-fueling boats via jerry cans of fuel.

·
Watkins 23
26 Posts
I agree with SD regarding the fuels being essentially the same. However, it should be noted that the boat diesel is died (red) for "off-road" use. So, while you can put highway diesel in a boat, it can't go the other way legally. The ultra low sulfur diesel sold now is said to have some less lubricity as it also contains less paraffin. My boat is not diesel but my car and truck are. I like to run a lubricity enhancer in my diesels. I like Stanadyne but it can be hard to find in some areas. There are several others also. I know the fuel has to meet certain standards and some will probably argue that it isn't necessary. However, injector pumps and rebuilds are high dollar and always mean down-time. Just my opinion FWIW.

Richard

·
Registered
474 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Diesel fuel

SD,
Thanks, the boat is at the dock at the house, so no one will be monitoring how I fuel the boat. Although, what you say suggests that I could not expect to fill up a can at a marine dock, like I can at a gas station.

Richard,
Thanks, I am not sure how I would determine if I need the additive you suggest, but I am only looking to top off the tank with a couple of gallons of fuel in a 25 gallon tank.