SailNet Community banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
S/V "MACKINAC"
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My Universal M-30 diesel calls for 10w-40 diesel oil. Locally I can only find 5w-30 or 15w-40.
Can I substitute for another weight oil??? If so which way do I go. Living and sailing in Maine.
OR
Do I look around to find the right weight
Thanks
Bill

·
Registered
3,184 Posts
All I can say is, I've been using Shell Rotella T 15w40 for the last 4 years in my Universal 5424, and the previous owner used it for about 10. I buy it from Walmart.

If you really want 10w40, Shell make Rotella T5, a more expensive synthetic blend, in 10w40. I can see the advantage being easier starting on very cold days, and you're in a colder climate than me.

Both are well-respected diesel oils.

Interestingly, I just fixed a noisy tappet in my Land Rover V8, with Rotella T. Took about 500 miles to work its magic.

·
Registered
Corsair 24
4,594 Posts
or delo 400....I stick with oils for the life of the engine or for the time I use said engine

switcing oils searching for the holy grail does no good and in some cases can cause excess sludge and or sediment

15-40 is fine in a 10 40 specd engine.

unless you are in freezing morning temps you are in the same temp range that calls for 10 40

good luck

·
Registered
Corsair 24
4,594 Posts
yeah Im no fan of synthetics for an old inboard diesel

if anything stick to dino stuff the delo 400 and rotella are so similar its funny...they are heavy and have nice amounts of detergents and anti shearing qualities.

if you are worried about wear previous to your ownership you can add some zddp like stp, or marvel mystery oil(those are the only 2 I have used and recomend) and call it good.

again stick to the same oil for the life of your engine especially if you have access to the same oil in your area...unless you move to another climate your good to go with 15-40