SailNet Community banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a new to me 83 Cal 3-27 and I am in the planning stages of a haul out, cleaning and bottom job, but this DIY marina/yard charges by the day (and I don't have much time on my hands to get this done), so the quicker the better and if I can do it over the weekend even better. I have done a bottom job on my first boat 76 Chrysler 22 which went well, but it had a trailer and I could work on it at my own pace in the parking lot of my warehouse. I have never used stands before nor had a boat hauled out so I am looking for advice.

To start off with here are the published rates for the marina...
Haul out $1.85/ft = $49.95
Launch $1.85/ft = $49.95
Short haul out (two hours in the straps) $3.75/ft = $101.25
Pressure wash and scrape $1.50 - $2.25/ft = $40.05 - $60.75
Block (one time charge) $55 for my size
Work Area (including water and electricity) $.50/ft per day = $13.50/day

So at a bare minimum to inspect the condition of the bottom I would use the short haul out option @ $101.25. If by some miracle the bottom is good looking ( I already know it has a few barnacles on it based on peaking over the edge on a decent heeling angle) what should I have them do? If the boat had a hard bottom paint previously then a pressure washing and scraping would be fine as it would bring out new copper to the surface. However if it was an ablative paint then the pressure washing will remove a good chunk of the paint along with the bad stuff.