SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
1985 Beneteau First 29
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’ve been sailing about 30 some years but I am relatively new to full keel boats. I’m having trouble getting ours to tack. We have a Reliance 44. Is it just my trim? Any suggestions are welcome

·
Super Moderator
4,061 Posts
Not familiar with that boat, but it looks like it has been fitted as a cutter or a ketch. @ 28,000 lbs. ?
How is yours rigged?

Generally speaking, speed helps. (momentum) Backwinding the headsail can also help get the bow through the wind. But I'll defer to those who have more experience with heavy full keel boats.

·
Registered
2,589 Posts
Any long-keeled sailboat will tack. They all do.
They don't point that high, but they will certainly tack.
Their real strength is their stability when running off-wind.
I think perhaps you are attempting to tack in very light airs (?).
In stronger winds, bear-off to gain some extra speed and with about half-rudder, the ship will get through the eye of the wind and on to the other tack.
If the wind is very light, and you get "clapped in irons", don't be afraid to run the motor for a wee while to help a heavy ship. Whatever is easiest for you. Despite what the purists say, there are no rules on that one (unless you are racing).

Some 30 years on with a Union Polaris 36, with the same cutaway-forefoot keel design as your ship, I would have no other and I wouldn't part with that ship for love nor money.
Each to their own, but for me, the long-keel is king.

Rockter.

·
Registered
149 Posts
When you think abut it a fin keel boat and a full keel boat have different underwater shapes.
This means that they will behave differently.
As Tempest has said, full keeled boats track really well.
Fin keeled boats tack really well.
You will need speed so bear off get some speed and throw the helm over.