SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone.

This is my very first post on this forum. I have a peculiar query.
I am a complete newbie at sailing. Just took an open sea course and plan on getting the beginner's certification as the next step. Step by step I plan to reach my ultimate goal- reach Hawaii from mainland(LA or San Fran) sailing alone. I don't care if it takes me 3 or even 10 years from now, but I want to be fully prepared- for obvious reasons. But there is one problem as of now....I am petrified of the Ocean.

I am a competent enough swimmer in a swimming pool. I thought if I could swim in the pool I could do it in the Ocean too. So while on a trip to Thailand I decided to jump right in. And it was a nightmare.

Even though the sea was calm it was much much harder to swim. I ducked in(the water being crystal clear) and upon seeing the depth my heart stopped beating for a few good seconds.

I felt as though the Ocean was pulling me away from the boat. And we were barely a few meters away from the mainland. I felt out of control. Like how a fish would feel on land. And I can swim in pools very well.

So my query is this: Do I have to be a very good swimmer if I want to learn and sail my own boat someday?

How good can you swim? Like if you fall overboard somewhere between Hawaii and California with 2000 miles of (probably) rough sea on either side, then what?

Should I first master my fear of the Ocean, become a very good swimmer and diver(as opposed to just competent) and then take sailing?

·
Remember you're a womble
2,328 Posts
Like if you fall overboard somewhere between Hawaii and California with 2000 miles of (probably) rough sea on either side, then what?
Then unless you are extremely lucky, you are dead and no amount of swimming ability is going to help you. Sailors traditionally never learnt to swim, there was no point, if you went in the ocean you were dead anyway.
Happy happy :)