SailNet Community banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,945 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
One of my projects in the spring will be rebedding my teak handrails. I assume this means removing the teak bungs so I can get at the screw heads beneath. However, I've never done this before. I've heard of "drilling out the bungs", but I'm not sure of the technique involved. Is it simply using a bit the same size as the bung, or is there more too it? FWIW, the underside of the bolts are easily accessible in the cabin. Any advice appreciated.

·
Registered
674 Posts
If the teak is varnished, take a scraper and LIGHTLY scrape the varnish off the area around the bung. Then take an appropriately sized self tapping screw and drive it into the bung w/ your electric drill. *Theoretically* when the screw hits the screw in the wood it will cause the bung to lift and break out of the hole. You can then use a pick or awl to get out any loose pieces.
I personally prefer to use an awl to break out the pieces and just take my time but then I'm usually not taking out more than a few at once.

·
Registered
2,195 Posts
I use a bit that is smaller than the bung. When I used a bit the same diameter as the bung sometimes I would get splintering around the hole from wood glued real good to the bung. With the smaller hole I push the remaining bung wood into the hole working outwards towards the wood.

·
Registered
5,072 Posts