SailNet Community banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So after getting some great help on finding charts and online reader programs etc. i started looking at charts in my area of the ICW (Florida). Now i'm a newbie so I have to ask. Where is it ok to drop the hook for the night? I ask because reading the boating guide lines etc. it tells you your not supposed to drop the anchor for the night on the ICW unless in an anchorage area. So I start looking at charts, find out how to find the anchorages (didn't work), they show that an anchorage will be marked by a small anchor on the chart. I look at the whole chart for my area and I see none. So whats the general rule to dropping the hook for the night safely and legally so at 1:00 A.M I don't get waken up by whatever authority would be out there to tell me I cant be there. That's all we will be doing right now as were just learning to sail and more or less just want to spend a few hours on the water to then camp for the night and go back home in the morning.

·
Registered
778 Posts
Go to activecaptain.com and register. It's about the most comprehensive source. Info is pretty fresh, since it's crowd-sourced.

The Dozier's Waterway Cruising Guides are also good references
Skipper Bob's guides are pretty good too
if you're in the Keys, Frank Papy's cruising book is a good resource

·
Registered
1,438 Posts
The spots marked on the charts with an anchor are officially designated anchoring areas. That does not mean that you cannot anchor anywhere else. In fact, so long as you are well clear of the marked channel, you can anchor pretty much anywhere that you want (with a few exceptions).

That, however, does NOT mean that it would be a smart thing to just drop your anchor any old place for the night. Some places make a good anchorage, and some do not. As mentioned, ActiveCaptain is a good resource. Here is another...
Cruiser's Net

And for southwest Florida, yet another...