SailNet Community banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

bell ringer
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I read on another thread that the AUS dollar has dropped 20% to the US dollar. I never have thought about it a lot, but exchange rates have to play a pretty big part of cruising from place to place on a fixed budget. Anyone have a good easy to use method to hedge against this for a cruiser?

Everytime I travel to another country I end up wasting money on exchange fees on my credit card. I did some research for exchange fee free credit cards, but they all seem to have a yearly fee so now need to compare to 2 (my feeling is that long term with a lot of travel that a $50/yr card fee is less than the reoccurring exchange fees). But anyone know of a good credit card with no annual fees, no exchange fees, and which doesn't make up for it by giving you a crappy exchange rate?

Registered
I am not an expert in this area, but a group of us were in Colima, MX about a year ago. We were told to use debit card and get cash. The exchange rate was supposed to be as good as any, but I didn't do a comparison. Just trusted the American guy who lived there and was helping us. Maybe this doesn't answer your question about credit cards, but just adds another option when acceptable.

Interesting subject.

bell ringer
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
The card companies sole purpose of existence is to take your money ... one way or another.
Just like it is the sole purpose of any bank or business, but that doesn't mean you can not take steps to reduce it.

I use my credit card for almost everything and run an average of $3000/mo in charges though it. Haven't paid a fee or interest (other than exchange fees when traveling) in years and get around $50/mo back each month in rewards cash. I actually make money by using my credit card.

Old soul
Love these cross-posts sailorboy1 (I didn't know that was you. Makes sense now ;))

As I wrote: