SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all!

I have been lurking here for only a few days, reading a bunch. I'm 34 and looking at getting my first sailboat, have not sailed before but love boating and am comfortable in the water, used to lead a Swiftwater rescue team. I have me at 6'2", the misses at 5' 10" and 2 kids ages 10 and 12 who are about 5'. I am trying to be realistic about size and complexity as I am learning from scratch. I will be using the boat on inland lakes and rivers in the pacific and inland NW such as the Columbia, Flathead, Lake Cd'A, Lake Roosevelt and such. I'm not planning on us being able to all sleep on the first boat or do overnight trips with more than just me. I will be trailering it behind my Silverado which can tow 10k lbs and I have plenty of experience towing. I had decided to grab a Tanzer 16 with a trailer that was ready to sail (supposedly) but I'm now on lockdown due to COVID and can't take a road trip to get it so I have some time to rethink and get advice from you fine folk. There is also a San Juan 21 not too far away as well as some bigger boats in the 26+ range. I'd love to find a Tanzer 22 but there are none close and I'm wondering if that is starting to get too big for a newbie's first boat.

What say you?

Thanks in advance!

·
11,797 Posts
‘Welcome

The San Juan and Tanner would be great to learn on. Look at Catalina 25 as well.

·
Super Moderator
4,195 Posts
Is the Tanzer 16 the over nighter model? Likely too small for the 4 of you to over night on, but might be able to do camping trips with you and the two kids or a couples over night get away on it. Rig a boom tent and your indoor living space doubles. A simple poly tarp tarp will do, or you can go as fancy as you want. Nice thing about the Tanzer 16, is it's light enough you could probably get away with out needing an outboard. Sail or canoe paddle into dock.