SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, first post and I just bought my first boat. It needs a little work but nothing I can't handle, it's more a matter of knowing what to fix as I'm a complete beginner when it comes to sailing.

So anyway, as I was working on the boat I noticed a hole in the bottom of the hull, below the water line. It looks like it might be a drain for the bathroom sink but I'm pretty sure a hole on the bottom of a boat can't be good. Can anyone shed some light on what this is/why its there? And I'm guessing I'll need to patch it up, right?

thanks!

(this is on a Catalina 25 btw)

·
Registered
1,898 Posts
Is there anything attached to the hole? Is there anything near the hole such as a hose, a seac0ck, maybe some electrical wiring for a transducer that was once in the hole? Maybe post a picture of the inside of the boat of the location of the hole. How big is the drain?

Reactions: MarkofSeaLife

·
Registered
1970 Columbia 36
12 Posts
Hello, first post and I just bought my first boat. It needs a little work but nothing I can't handle, it's more a matter of knowing what to fix as I'm a complete beginner when it comes to sailing.

So anyway, as I was working on the boat I noticed a hole in the bottom of the hull, below the water line. It looks like it might be a drain for the bathroom sink but I'm pretty sure a hole on the bottom of a boat can't be good. Can anyone shed some light on what this is/why its there? And I'm guessing I'll need to patch it up, right?

thanks!

View attachment 138414
What's on the other side?

·
Registered
3,771 Posts