SailNet Community banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I'm interested in buying my first sail boat and would like some recommendations on type, size, etc.

My details:

My wife and I have been sailing for about 2 years in Miami, and the beauty in Miami is that you can do it year round so we've been going out almost weekly. We've taking a few of the ASA courses (101 & 103 and are planning on 104 soon), and have taken out up to a 32' out by ourselves, albeit we stayed on the coast and didn't venture out of sight of land, and have mainly taken out 22-26'ers. We've both crewed multiple times (going back more than 2 years-we used to live in Marblehead, MA and crewed often) for friends on much larger boats, but I wouldn't dare say that we captained a 52'.

Our goal with this boat:

At first, we'll most likely sail around Biscayne Bay and slightly offshore, maybe heading to the upper Keys at first, but eventually we'd like to be able to head over to the Bahamas, at least over to Bimini. Although we may change our minds, I don't see this boat as a long distance cruiser (probably like every other sailor in the world, we see ourselves buying a 48' in the future and sailing around the world for a few years). It will most likely be a day sailer, with occasional overnights.

I've been told by a co-worker, who's sailed for something like 50 years, that we should just get a cheap 24-28' boat for now, beat it up for a year or so and let it take all of the bumps and dings, sell it then and buy what we want. This is one option. The other is to buy a slightly larger boat that we can grow into and keep for 3 or 4 years (I wouldn't mind a 36-38') then buy the 48' and drop off the face of the earth for a few years...