SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 83 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to sailing. I just took ASA 101. I only know the basics. I'm am looking to purchase, but I'm more anxious about purchasing than I am to actually sailing! I am gravitating towards a 30ft Catalina. We are not rich people , but could afford a used sailboat. My fear is purchasing a lemon! And to add pressure, my husband, while fully supportive of my dream to sail , he isn't into it. He says it is like watching paint dry. Other sailors are discouraging me from purchasing a boat of this size. They are telling me that for every foot increased in size, the cost of maintaining it increases exponentially.? I've been practical all my life, and a bargain shopper too. A friend told me " there is nothing more expensive than a cheap boat ! " I know to get a survey to help eliminate some doubt. I could use some guidance. Thank you in advance. 馃槉 I'd probably be sailing in Lake Pontchartrain, Louisiana, and the Mississippi Gulf Coast.

Registered
MAKE SURE you understand what the ongoing costs will be. If you haven't done so, check around for where you would keep a boat, and see what the monthly cost is for a slip. It's probably roughly equivalent to a car payment. Plus maintenance and repairs. So the major expense is not BUYING a boat but KEEPING a boat.

A thirty foot boat is doable, but seems a bit on the big side for a brand new sailor. Something in the 25-27 foot range might make more sense, and would also be less expensive to keep and maintain. If slip fees turn out to be a problem, you could also get a trailer boat, which would usually max out around 25 feet (I think; I have no experience there).

Taking the ASA course is a big step, and a good sign that you will succeed if you decide to. And it shouldn't take more than an outing or two for your husband to see the difference between sailing and watching paint dry.

Registered