SailNet Community banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My grandson wants to buy his first sailboat to learn to sail initially on a big lake, near where they live in North Carolina.
Since I have no experience of anything under 40’ foot, we wonder if members could suggest what make(s) we might start to look at, in the $3,000-$4,000 range used, and the best site to find same.
It needs to be no longer than 20’ feet, preferably shole-draft with a center-board, and a small cabin with head. The mast needs to be lowerable to pass under bridges. A trailer would be an advantage.
Thanks in advance.
JR.

·
Registered
124 Posts
San Juan 21 would fit the bill too, although just a bit longer. Swing keel, trailer launching is easy, and I know where one will be for sale come spring.

Sent from my Moto E (4) Plus using Tapatalk

·
Registered
27 Posts
First you should think about what kind of sailing you want to do.
1. Do you want to stay dry or is getting wet something you would like.
Small dry sailboats think of a row boat with a sail.
(Example a Flying junior)
Small wet sailboats think of a board (no hull) with a sail.
(Example a Sunfish)
2. Do you also want to fish from the boat?
A small row boat with a sail can also be used as a row boat for fishing.
3. Will you go out in cold weather?
If no then an open boat is OK.
If yes then having a small cabin makes sense.
4. Do you want to learn how to sail with a jib or not.
Basically 1 sail or 2 sails.

After you think about these question you can then look for a sailboat that will fit your needs.

·
Registered
27 Posts
First you should think about what kind of sailing you want to do.
1. Do you want to stay dry or is getting wet something you would like.
Small dry sailboats think of a row boat with a sail.
(Example a Flying junior)
Small wet sailboats think of a board (no hull) with a sail.
(Example a Sunfish)
2. Do you also want to fish from the boat?