SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
not-so-old salt
156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First - Thanks to everyone for the great info here on sailnet....

Well, the old girl finally came out of the water to get a bottom job. Sounds simple, yes? Just take down the mast, motor to the deep water ramp (2 hours), get on the trailer and take her to the shop where the local fiberglass Guru has his way with her. I'd planned on replacing the head and sanitation hoses while she was out of the water. I know it can be done in the water...but I'm a novice at most of this stuff.

simple...sure....right...

On the way to the deep water dock, the engine looses power and gets really loud. The guy motoring her down there shut off the engine and phoned for a tow about the same time a front moved through with 35 mph gusts. Nice. He tosses out an anchor and it doesn't hit bottom - hauls it back in, adds every bit of line on the boat to the rode and tries again. Gets it to stick before running into the rocks (we're on an inland lake). The powerboater arrives and gets her to the dock and on the trailer and to the shop without incident.

Inspection reveals the engine didn't overheat - all the coolant is still there. Impeller is good. Strainer is clean. Exhaust hose needs replaced, but is sound. Mixing elbow - not so much. It had basically disintegrated from corrosion. I was surprised as this is a lifetime freshwater boat, but after a few hours on google, I find this is a 'wear item' and can expect to replace them at least once every 10 years. This one made it 24 years - guess I got lucky. Lucky like Russian roulette. I don't have the tools to break the elbow off without risking damaging the threads, so I turn it over to a pro. $$$$Cha-Ching$$$$ This is where I was introduced to the wonders of marine grade parts. I had no idea reinforced exhaust hose was so expensive. Of course, I need 18 feet of it.