SailNet Community banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I have been reading through this forum for quite sometime now. There is a lot of great info here and I figured I would come aboard.

I'm a youngster on the outside, but inside I'm an old geezer. While everyone else is dreaming of the next party, I'm dreaming of retirement. Well the time has come come to start the planning phase of my (working)retirement.

As a child I developed a love for the water and boats, mainly motorboats, but boats nonetheless. Also I am fascinated by renewable energy and what's more renewable than the wind?(I suppose hydrogen but I'm no scientist)

Add all that together with my beautiful Asian bride, who strangely enough is equally fascinated, and you get a recipe for magic(or disaster)

My plan is to spend this first 3-5 years learning how to sail and buying a 25' sloop for coastal piddling, for the next 5-10 years after that we will spend time honing our skills and building/refitting a 40-45' Bluewater sloop or ketch into a self sufficient global home to retire in and travel at age 40(or sooner, I learn and work fast)

l have more than a few questions to come, but for now i will continue my reading.

·
Registered
1,073 Posts
General,

Good plan. Learn on a small one, big enough for extended excursions but small enough so you can loose a little gelcoat and not worry too much. Then, once the dumb learning mistakes are done with, buy a big girl, wide in the transom, and do some serious sailing. Post and pics is all we ask.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I will be sure to provide pictures as they become available. I am in the process of liquidating my motorcycle collection and moving to Florida to begin the hands on learning.