SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When clearing customs in foreign ports, would a US warrant cause any issue? Particularly the bahamas. If your response is anything like involving taking care of it before hand or something not cnstructive, please don't respond.

·
Bombay Explorer 44
3,619 Posts
The answer is no unless the offence on the warrant is an extraditable one. In that case the answer is maybe.

Essentially the State issuing the warrant would have to be actively pursuing you and would have to alert the Bahamian authorities. From then on lawyers get involved.

·
Mermaid Hunter
5,686 Posts
When clearing customs in foreign ports, would a US warrant cause any issue? Particularly the bahamas. If your response is anything like involving taking care of it before hand or something not cnstructive, please don't respond.
It depends.

First I am not a lawyer or law enforcement officer.

I know that between Canada and the US convictions and warrants can cause US citizens to be turned away from Canada.

In the Bahamas I'm less sure. I have heard of people being turned away (and reported to US officials) with federal warrants. I have no personal knowledge.

That's all I know.

·
Master Mariner
9,220 Posts
Every place I have cleared into in the last several years has a machine that they insert our US passports (I do not know about other countries) into. It is connected to a data base which could possibly pull up that sort of information, but I do not know for sure. At any rate, you really do not want to chance ending up in a jail or prison in some 3rd world country, even the Bahamas, awaiting extradition. Get a Conch Republic passport from Key West. It is supposed to work in the Bahamas and much of the Caribbean (Maybe?).

Reactions: MarkofSeaLife

·
Registered
724 Posts