SailNet Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I'm new to having a diesel and I wondered the other day why my fuel pump continues to "purr" along with the ignition on, but the engine not yet started. It's a 1987 Catalina 30 and everything is in good order. The valve on the fuel return to the tank is closed so I figured that the pump would pump until it came up to pressure and then stop - kind of like my old 1967 MG Midget where I would listen for the pump to purr and then stop before I started the engine.

So am I just needing to get used to the purr continuing or should it actually stop? I'm wondering if the pump is starting to reach its life's end.

Oh, one other thing. When I open the fuel return valve the pump speeds up so I know that the fuel is running back to the tank. The engine runs fine by the way. I've replace the fuel lines last fall and everything went fine. I was getting ready to replace the filters this spring when I noticed the continuing noise and I can't remember if it was always there.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Jeff

Attachments

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I like how you're assuming that I have a spare pump. New to me boat and I'm still getting the spares sorted out. Must be time to order one.....

·
Registered
1,169 Posts
There's nothing wrong with your pump. In the electrical system, it is designed to run all the time. If you have an M25 engine, the knurled knob can be kept closed. The pump will still run.

Poke around here (and read about bleeding, too)

Engines 101 - The BIGGEST & BEST collection of M25 Series Universal Engine Information on the Internet, plus some M35, too :)

Diesel Engine - C34

Bleeding 101 http://c34.org/bbs/index.php/topic,6377.0.html

·
Registered
21,799 Posts
Why would the fuel return valve ever be closed?

For a moment, when I read about a continuous purring noise, I thought you might have been hearing the engine room ventilation fan.

·
Registered