SailNet Community banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Schooner Captain
2,199 Posts
Reaction score
Its no big deal at all. The underwater detonations in the 50's and 60's irradiated more water then fukoshima ever could. There has been no rise in the background radiation in the air on the west coast, and not even in japan some 60 miles from the plant. Its not a very big deal, and very small next to even the russian meltdown.

· Schooner Captain
2,199 Posts
Reaction score
I dare say there a places in the Pacific that even today you would not want to visit.
they should all be fine by now. Low enough that it is no different then watching a tube tv, or standing by the microwave. I might not be a great sailor, but I am a great scientist.

· Schooner Captain
2,199 Posts
Reaction score
You mean NRC makes us properly dispose of our radiative waste of C14 and H3 is just for the show. The cost of disposal of a 55 gal drum is way over 10 grands. We could just turn on the tap and flush down the drain. Hey our ocean is huge, they can't detect that.

That was BP said that too about their oil. :)
The issue with the oil is, it floats. Too bad too or maybe noone would have know about the spill. All is not lost, there are microbes in the sea that eat oil. In fact long before we came tapping the oil, it leaked naturally into the water, and was eaten by these microbes.

On the radiation, your right. dumping 55 gallon drums into the ocean would not be all too bad, as long as it was not in one area. There are even theories that dumping our nuclear waste into the trench in the pacific would do so little harm, that we would never notice. That is true, however as a good scientist I see the value in spent nuclear fuel. It can be reprocessed and reused, just ask france.

· Schooner Captain
2,199 Posts
Reaction score
Would you stop calling yourself a GOOD scientist in a sailing forum? It does not make your statement stands out more. ...........LOL