SailNet Community banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
We hauled out a couple weeks ago, and I've been going over the boat with a fine tooth comb. I'm rebedding all the deck hardware, and have found some gel-coat cracking on the deck, and another below the waterline that I think may involve a little fiberglass work. I'm a complete newbie for the gel-coat/fiberglass repair so I'm starting to do some research. I just bought two books, one by Don Casey "Sailboat Hull and Deck Repair" and another by Roger Marshall "Fiberglass Boat Repair Illustrated".
I'll probably get my supplies from Jamestown, unless anyone has a better source? Is there anything I really need to be aware of that may not be covered in the books? Thanks in advance!
GH

·
Registered
3,588 Posts
Just for starters, don't let the perfect be the enemy of the good. Not every spider crack in gelcoat needs to be repaired. Gelcoat is really aesthetic, not structural. Learn how to make gelcoat and fiberglass repairs, and make the most important repairs first. Be satisfied with a good job until you develop the skills to do a perfect job. Don't make the job so big that it overwhelms you.

·
Registered
1987 Cape Dory MKII hull #3
583 Posts
Hi all,
We hauled out a couple weeks ago, and I've been going over the boat with a fine tooth comb. I'm rebedding all the deck hardware, and have found some gel-coat cracking on the deck, and another below the waterline that I think may involve a little fiberglass work. I'm a complete newbie for the gel-coat/fiberglass repair so I'm starting to do some research. I just bought two books, one by Don Casey "Sailboat Hull and Deck Repair" and another by Roger Marshall "Fiberglass Boat Repair Illustrated".
I'll probably get my supplies from Jamestown, unless anyone has a better source? Is there anything I really need to be aware of that may not be covered in the books? Thanks in advance!
GH
================================