SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
美国华人, 帆船
2,528 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have my share of using AA and AAA batteries. In my other life, I use lot of them for camera flashes. To my surprise, there are not many sailors use them at all. Not sure why? I have been using rechargeable AA and AAA for more than 6 years. All of them still work like they were new.

For those who want to try them. I would recommend

1. Sanyo Eneloop. There are many other brands, but Eneloop by far holds the charges the longest. The rechargeable have a slight lower voltage, but its sustain power is better. For camera flash, it recycles your flash much faster. I use them of my LED lights and SPOT, they last for a long time.

Amazon.com: NEW Sanyo Eneloop 3rd generation 8 Pack AA NiMH Pre-Charged Rechargeable Batteries-Newest version-FREE BATTERY HOLDER- Rechargeable 1800 times: [email protected]@[email protected]@http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/[email protected]@[email protected]@51xSlxCabZL

Costco has the best price if you can find them there.

2. Battery charger, it is the most important. Avoid the unintelligent rapid charger, it kills rechargeable in no time. Heat is their enemy. Make sure you buy smart charger, it charges each battery separately. It also has a safe discharge function to rejuvenate battery.

I have this one for years.... This is particular nice because it comes with 12V and 110 plugs. It is most important for us, the Cruisers use 12 volt system.

Watson 8-Bay Rapid Charger for AA / AAA NiMH or NiCd AA-8LCD B&H

I also bought some battery boxes for and use the color tape to indicate if charged or discharged.
Amazon.com: Bluecell Pack of 9 PCS AA / AAA Battery Storage Hard Case Box: Home [email protected]@[email protected]@http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/[email protected]@[email protected]@41qPuaPgiJL

You will never run out of batteries again in the middle of nowhere. Go green.