SailNet Community banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My wife and our friends love to sail and dive in the Caribbean. For the last several years we have chartered a catamaran with a captain/divemaster and cook for two glorious weeks in various parts of the Caribbean.

I have very little experience sailing, but want to learn and charter our own boat. I just thought (yesterday) that there would be a fabulous book experience in the process of learning. Starting from the desire to sail among the beautiful islands, and from the vantage point of someone who knows practically nothing about sailing, this book leads the reader from the first day of instruction through to ultimately being a safe and capable captain; one who would feel comfortable either renting or owning a sailboat and living aboard for weeks at a time.

I'm throwing this concept out there to see if anyone thinks it would be a good idea. (or if anyone knows of a book such as this that's already written!)

·
Registered
8 Posts
That sounds like a really good idea, and I can't immediately think of a book like it (then again I don't know about that many sailing books haha) My only concern is making it appeal across a wide range of yachts. If it can cover the different rigging one might encounter across a range of yachts then I think you're on to a winner.

Btw its my dream to sail around the Caribbean one day - I'm very jealous

·
Registered
1,720 Posts