SailNet Community banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone

I am thinking of taking my 1984 Swan 46 Mark 1 to the gulf of mexico this May/June.

We will be sailing up the west coast of Florida and then have the option to either sail to the very northern end of FL or taking the boat across the Gulf to St Padre island.

Has anyone sailed these waters at that time? Are there a lot of cruisers around there? I was hoping the Gulf would have decent winds but few waves due to being enclosed.

any ideas where I would find this info?

thanks for any info

Andreas

·
Registered
1,833 Posts
It's a wonderful time to be here. I've been sailing here for many years and the weather is perfect here then.

The one caveat is to watch the hurricane reports (officially I think the hurricane season starts June 1), and to always have a plan on where you will go if one hits the gulf. We usually don't see the bad ones until August, but there are no guarantees.

Worrying about one sure wouldn't stop me from coming here and enjoying the sailing.

As far as being enclosed, it's a big gulf. I've been in the middle of it when it looked like a mill pond, and when it looked like a giant washing machine.

Check some of the floating weather buoys to see.

http://www.ndbc.noaa.gov/

Here's what one station says.

Station 42003
NDBC
Date: Thu, 13 Feb 2014 14:50:00 UTC
Winds: NW (310°) at 21.4 kt gusting to 25.3 kt
Significant Wave Height: 10.2 ft
Dominant Wave Period: 8 sec
Mean Wave Direction: WNW (288°)
Atmospheric Pressure: 29.96 in and rising
Air Temperature: 63.3 F

·
Registered
1,446 Posts