SailNet Community banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,000 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
We are a family of 4, my husband, two children 4 and 6 and myself looking for a boat to go cruising down in Mexico and possibly Central and South America. We have found 2 boats that meet our budget, the Gulfstar 37 and a Catalina 36. I would like to see a comparison of these two boats, but I couldnt find it. Could anyone give me opinions? Thank you!

·
Banned
17,467 Posts
Though I'm still a newb to sailing - I've been doing A LOT of research and talking to many sailors about various boats. I own a C27 and I'd choose a Catalina over a Gulfstar in a heart beat - every time. Gulfstars are typically cheaper - but for a reason.

It's hard to go wrong with a Catalina in my opinion.

BTW - Welcome to SN dude!

·
19,489 Posts
I think for family cruising it's pretty hard to beat the Cat 36's layout. The extra dinette/settee in the main cabin and the aft berth(s) offer great flexibility.

You'll also have a much larger selection available of Catalinas than the lesser-known Gulfstar. If you can, I'd go for the newer versions with the open transom and enlarged cockpits.

·
Registered
56 Posts
FWIW, I chose a Catalina 34 over a 36 for family cruising due in part to interior layout. Also due to condition, keel stepped mast and D/L ratios, the first two of which vary by boat and model year.

I recommend taking a look at a C34 if there's one for sale nearby.

·
Registered
1,517 Posts
Theres about a million (exaggerating) Catalian 34/Catalina 36 out there...they share much of the same parts and construction and have an extremely active owners organization. Plus the manufacturer is still in business.

Unless the price differential is extreme, my vote would go to the Catalina, even though I *HATE* their cockpits.

·
Registered
1,174 Posts