SailNet Community banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just wanted to say "Hello" to everyone. I am new to sailing, and am currently having to teach myself. I am a few months away from moving to another state where I will have a much larger lake, much closer to home. I am anticipating being able to sail more often, and take advantage of a local club that offers lessons. I know how most of you feel about MacGregors, but that is the boat I was given, and I cannot afford another boat at this time. I am too inexperienced to realize the limits of my Mac, and I have enjoyed her thus far. Isn't enjoyment one of the benefits of sailing??? I am, however, open to suggestions of what I can do that may help my boat be better or easier sailing. "LaRae" is rather bare bones, but in good condition and fully functional. Thanks.

·
Tartan 27' owner
5,238 Posts
Welcome to SailNut Gale!
Most of the people who talk spit about MacGregor 26' sailboats have never set foot on one.
Before I go on I ought to ask which model of MacGregor sailboat you have?
The 21', 22', 25' & 26' versions are all a little different with major differences within the 4 different 26' models.
Anyway, it is important to enjoy the boat you have, right?
depending on which model boat you have the IdaSailor replacement rudders are supposed to be better than the original design.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·