Registered
539 Posts
Hello back at ya, twisty.

Where in NC do you sail?

·
Registered
994 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I am currently living on Topsail Island, no sailboat yet, just powerboats. I am just getting started with sailing. But I am leaning toward a cat, somewhere in the 30' range.

Secondwind it is nice to know I have "neighbors".

Thank for the warm welcomes!

·
Registered
539 Posts
It's a great area. I've done some work with the folks at the sea turtle hospital up there through my job at the newspaper in Wrightsville. I was right in the middle of the action when they released the rehabbed turtles into the surf at Topsail last summer.

·
Registered
164 Posts
Welcome to the forum Twisty. Tell us about Topsail Island.

Regards, John

·
Registered
994 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
It's a great area. I've done some work with the folks at the sea turtle hospital up there through my job at the newspaper in Wrightsville. I was right in the middle of the action when they released the rehabbed turtles into the surf at Topsail last summer.
It is a great area! I am quite familiar with the Sea Turtle Hospital, I live about a block away. I own a little seafood market here to so if we have fish that we don't sell it goes over there to feed the turtles. Being here years though I have never made it to a release. :( I should probably do that before they move to their new facility.

·
Registered
994 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Welcome to the forum Twisty. Tell us about Topsail Island.

Regards, John
Topsail is a neat "little" barrier island consisting of 3 small communities, our only real claim to fame is the above mentioned Sea Turtle hospital. Other than that we are just three tourist communities. The smallest town, where I live, only lays claim to 400 year round residents(the actual number is ALOT lower) but blossoms to around 7000 in the summer or so we are told.