SailNet Community banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
994 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all

I am fairly new to sailing (having taken a basic keel boat class about two years go). Life got in the way and my sailing dreams were put on hold. However, I was lucky enough to travel and cruise for 10 days in the exumas with a good friend last spring (they were down there for 6 months) and now I'm hooked. It is now my passion in life to get my own boat and learn as much as I can and set sail one day for my own big adventure. My immediate hope is to buy a small boat to get some practical experience in the coming months or find someone locally that will be wiling to take me out and continue to teach me. I also hope to take a navigation or cruising course at the same school where I took the basic keel boat. I know it all will come in time - but it's hard to temper my passion and excitement. Any advice that you all can provide in the coming months will be most appreciated. I live in NC near greensboro - so I'm landlocked other then a lake. But if there is anyone in the area willing to teach me and take me under their wing I would be most appreciative. In the end though any and all advice that you seasoned sailors can provide will be welcomed. Thanks for providing this forum....

·
Registered
994 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks - they do. Because of my location it's actually almost as close for me to head to the beach then to lake norman. I'm a little nervous to show up to places without "knowing" someone so I thought a place like this (if anyone was from my area) may break the ice....

·
Registered
97 Posts