SailNet Community banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This Is Me

Recently sold our 42ft Beneteau and before that we had a O'day Trailor Sailer.

I work in the Alaska Oil Field on a 2 week shift and have 2 weeks off each month to commute to wherever the U.S. State Department has posted my wonderful better half. (currently Kazakhstan) it is a 36 hour commute "she is worth it"

Seeing as she is going to be at a post this next year starting in July that is unaccompanied she has decided that I should get another Sailboat for her to visit on her time off.

So I am here to add to my buying research..

Thanks in advance for all the information sharing and the answers to my questions that I am sure will follow.

Bill

·
Registered
8,475 Posts
Welcome aboard.
Okay, I kinda like your spouse already. anybody either crazy enough, ambitous enough or politically incorrect enough to get posted/exiled to the most remote and weirdest of the 'stans is okay in my book. and by extension his/her spouse must be crazy enough to be cool, too.
so, you need a boat, huh?
okay, riddle me this, roughneck- where do you want this boat to be, how big do you want the boat to be, and how much money do ye be spending on aforementioned vessel pruchase?

·
Tundra Down
1,290 Posts
Bill,

Sounds like an opportunity to meet and charter in a wide variety of places while you get your lives together in one local. The joint chartering experiences would provide the chance to evaluate a range of boats and features. I am just saying...;)

Down

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Welcome aboard.
Okay, I kinda like your spouse already. anybody either crazy enough, ambitous enough or politically incorrect enough to get posted/exiled to the most remote and weirdest of the 'stans is okay in my book. and by extension his/her spouse must be crazy enough to be cool, too.
so, you need a boat, huh?