SailNet Community banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this. My husband and I owned a 25' sloop ten years ago and sailed mostly long island sound. we have now purchased a bigger boat and are planning on sailing south for the winter. ten years ago we had only a gps and a loran. i went to college for civil engineering and have been in land surveying for 16 years but really need "water surveying"now. i feel i should be able to tackle all the new navigation gear easily but it does scare me. i've been reading up on chartplotters, fishfinders and gps linked to a laptop. what do i need to purchase and learn for a trip south? i'm hoping this community can help. thanks

·
Registered
201 Posts
Congrats on the new boat and the decision to cruise south for the winter. You don't mention how far south but the following are my recommendations:

1) depth sounder/fish finder - must have. I've used the basic digital depth sounder on my personal boat for a long time, fish finders on the tenders/fishing boats I generally tow in my other job, and big Furuno plotting sounders on the big boat. Frankly, I prefer the basic digital display with the indicator arrows. You can learn to read the water depth fairly quickly but I've always considered a depth sounder a must have. If you're an avid fisher-man/woman, then you may want to consider the fish finder. My fishing skills aren't that good (possibly because I don't have a fish finder on my boat).

2) GPS - must have (which is why it's #2). I have a basic one that can take chips (Garmin) but I tend to use it for the basic display info of lat/long, speed, course, xte,... You can bring a sextant and work on the celestial (which should be easy for you) but nothing is as accurate, reliable, and fast as the GPS. It's not gospel all the time but it's worth carrying (maybe 2).