SailNet Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bet there are a 100 intro posts that all read the same :)

Hi , i'm 39, and recently realised I've been living the wrong dream.

Now actively pursuing the learning path, and like others I'm new to sailing, but not new to boats, weather, swells, tides, sharks, dragging at anchor, navigational errors, running out of water, capsizing or hitting sandbanks at speed :eek: .

I've been reading with interest the threads of other members who have gone through and scaled back land based life and began to live aboard...talk about addictive reading.

I live in Brisbane, on the east coast of Australia. Not sure how many aussies are on this board, hopefully there are a few that may help with local knoweldge and cruising tips further down the track

anyway - I'll try to refrain from posting stupid questions (for a little while at least) and continue reading up for my first sailing lesson, which is only two weeks away

cheers...Jas

·
Super Fuzzy Moderator
17,137 Posts
Oh man...if every newb refrained from asking stupid questions where would we be ? The place would be an online ghost town. We feed on your stupid questions, they are our meat and three veg, the grist that powers our mill. :p

Anywho...if you don't ask stupid questions how can we give ever more inane replies ?

Ha...so welcome to SailNet. Please fire away , at will. In reality the natives are quite friendly. :)

·
Registered
1,469 Posts
Hi In2TheBlue
I lived in Oz for a while and built the Noosa Heads Sheraton, and a couple of resorts up in Port Douglas. Taught myself to windsurf on Lake Cootharaba. You guys have had a rough year! Have you dried out yet? Ironically, I also spent time in Christchurch NZ, but lets not even go there! Anyway, my boat is currently in Brisbane California (pronounced with a hard A), just South of San Francisco. Welcome! I hope you find the SN forum as useful as I have.

·
Registered
11 Posts