SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
5,119 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been hanging around for a couple of years and would like to do something positive. I would like to do something to be more closely connected to the sailing community.
But frankly it is more than a little intimidating.
Cam, saildog GUI etc seem to know just about everything. I'll never be even close.
Not going to start a magazine like Bitching Bob.
Not going to sail around the world a few times without a epirb like Larry P.
I do run a web company so have web site talent available to me.

The idea in the next post occurred to me but it may not be of interest to enough people.
http://www.sailnet.com/forums/406634-post48.html

Are there any market niches you have thought of that are not well served that maybe someone, like me, could fill. I have some modest resources at my disposal and and looking for ideas.

I'm not particularly looking for money making ideas, I have an adequate business now.
What I am looking for is something you wanted to find or know that that the current resources didn't fill.
Any "How come somebody doesn't" type of thoughts cross your mind?

Reactions: Bene505

·
Registered
5,119 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I'm reposting this from the other thread so I will not be in hijack territory:
I run a website development company and sometimes we have some slack time between jobs.
The Internet has a bunch of websites for crewing, lots for buying and selling, cruising and more.
This thread made me wonder if maybe a website devoted to matching lookie lou's and proud owners would be a service folks would use. I think that sailboat owners are a generous, helpful lot in general and usually go out of their way to introduce new people to our sport.
I know I wouldn't mind showing the Catalina 27 and 30 to a lookie lou from the Midwest.
I'm not thinking of a commercially viable site just something fun to do.
What do you think?