SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello sailnet community! I am an absolute beginner when it comes to sailing. I have only have sailed once and I think I fell in love. I am from Maryland on the chesapeake bay and right now I go to school on the gulf coast of south west florida, so I know that sailing has been around me my whole life but now I finally have time to pick up another skill/hobby.

Anyways, I am college student and I would love to learn how to sail and become familiar with the etiquette as well as the terminology. I am a very fast learner when motivated and I would like to ask if anyone knows a way I could get hands on experience sailing a larger boat (25+feet) in the southwest florida area with out buying a boat. I would also like to ask about any recommendations for a first boat, something small, yet big enough for a weekend trip. I have seen ads on craigslist for beat up 20-30ft. boats for around $5000. Do you guys think trying to restore a first boat would help with getting a better understanding of all the parts of the boat and how it all works?

If you have any advice, stories or wisdom that you could pass on to me I would greatly appreciate it. THANK YOU AND HOW TO SEE YOU ON THE WATER ONE DAY!

·
3,506 Posts
Stay in school.

·
Land lubber
1,421 Posts
How to sail: Walk the docks where there are a lot of sail boats. Be friendly and helpful, ask questions, and wait for invites.

Buying first boat: Do you have a place to store one? Keeping a boat in the water is expensive. Do you have a car? If yes, look for a hobie cat or 12'-16' monohull that is easily trailerable. Maintenance tend to be far less on those boats as well.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4