SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have a 1985 Catalina 22. I recently purchased a CDI FF2 furling system. It requires that I purchase 5/16 or 3/8 Dacron for a furling line. To lead the line from the drum aft to the cockpit, any estimate on how much I would need? I'm going to have to buy it online, so I don't want to order it only to come up a few feet short. I'm assuming 50 feet should do it.

Second question: I already have an anchor line running from the bow to the cockpit on the starboard side, so the furling line will need to be run on the port side. Would this affect whether or not I set up the furler to be clockwise vs counterclockwise, or would it make any difference?

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
50 will be plenty
Proper lead to the furler drum is very important
Sorry, I'm very new to this. When you say proper lead to the drum, what are some things I need to make sure I do/don't do? Does it have to do with how blocks are set up to guide the line aft?

After you replied, I added another piece of info that the furler line will need to be run on the port side.

·
Registered
4,930 Posts
you need the lline to be:

distance from drum to cockpit.... or winch you will use + length of foot of sail / 3 x drum diameter in feet+ 3'

example:

distance of furler to to winch = 20'
length of foot of sail = 12'
diameter of drum .25' (3")

20' + 12' / (3 x .25') + 3' = 26'

Harken says:
line should be equal to the length of the boat plus the length of the foot of the largest genoa plus 6'

·
Registered
3,716 Posts
SanderO describes the length well.

Proper lead means that the lead to the drum from the end block leading to it needs to be in the plane of the furler drum and not leading up or down to it. The installation instructions should describe this.