SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
6,689 Posts
This, of course, depends upon YOUR talents. Some folks have special skills that are marketable regardless of where they reside. I know dozens of cruisers that can fix any engine ever made, and do it quickly, while others can do some incredible canvas and sail work, have their own heavy-duty sewing machine and an assortment of hardware. Some are freelance writers that have managed to eek out a living with the few print media sailing and boating publications still in print. Me, I'm a musician/singer/entertainer, and for decades I've been in high demand for private parties, senior events, nite clubs, tiki bars, and marina restaurants. I can usually find work everywhere I cruise, unless is a remote island with no inhabitants, or a place that is frequented by the very young college and high-school crowds. My market is primarily folks from 40 to 80 years of age that love to party.

Good luck,

Gary :cool:

·
Master Mariner
9,225 Posts
I would suggest that you consider breaking your available cash into two segments; the boat ready to sail, and an annuity. The annuity will give you a fixed income for the duration of the contract, or your life, which is nice.
You will not be allowed to work in a foreign country unless you have a trade that the locals don't and I seriously doubt you are going to be able to finance your sailing with charters.
Some people I know run online stores, but this requires good internet where ever you go. Being a published writer is also a good source of sailing income. Just ask J K Rowling.

·
3,505 Posts
10,000 work permits were issued in Phuket, Thailand this year to foreigners...

·
Registered
3,645 Posts
In addition to marketable skills/ talents, I suppose it depends on how much support you need? Probably need to start with a budget..what are your fixed expenses? variable?

And, where you want to cruise to.