SailNet Community banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
987 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Prior to asking my question, I wanted to preface it by stating that I am somewhat new to sailing (did some as a child/teenager, but none as an adult) and this is my first sailboat, and so please forgive my lack of knowledge/ignorance as this is a very new hobby for me. This being said, any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

I recently purchased a Catalina 22 and in the process of cleaning it up and trying to work on restoring everything while it is on the trailer, I noticed that there seems to be water beneath the floor in the cabin. I'm not sure how to get to it or how to get it out, etc. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks for your help!

·
Registered
846 Posts
Normally there should be a bilge pump in that area. Electrical bilge pumps generally operate automatically with a float switch. There is als a hand perated manual pump to get rid of the water in case the electrical oneis out of order. These pumps normallty operate in the deepest part of the hull.

If you do not have a electrical bilge pump,buy one with a float switch and install it.

·
Barquito
3,756 Posts
On by Catalina 22 (Hull #1588) the water will eventually seep into the space near the volcano (the fiberglass surrounding the keel cable). You can encourage this movement by raising the bow a little (make sure there is sufficient weight at the hitch before raising (should be at least 200 lbs at the hitch if you are interested). Many people who trailer-sail their boats choose not to have automatic bilge pumps. Like they say, 'there is no better pump than handing a bucket to crew and telling them we are sinking'.:D

·
Registered
660 Posts