SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Blistering seems to be a big issue, and a serious problem, with many sailboats.
And because I have no knowledge, training or experience in the subject matter, any explanations, simple or scientific, will be wasted on me.
This brief survey, however, will help me greatly.
Thank you in advance for your help. This could be a teachable moment for me.
Would all boat owners who have had their boat sink due to blistering as the original causal factor simply list here the:

Length - Year Keel Laid - Manufacturer - Date Of Loss

·
SaltwaterSuzi/CapnLarry
609 Posts
I'm going to answer this one with the risk of getting my head chewed off because there are differing opinions. I work in a marina. I thought I had a blister problem on my boat. (Turned out it was just some blisters in the bottom paint - no big deal.) But I was concerned.

I asked some of the pro's who have worked here for 20 or 30 years. No one had ever heard of a boat sinking because of blisters.

If it's a problem that you want to address, pull the boat, pressure wash as usual, have it blocked on tripods. Pop the blisters and let them dry out for a couple of days, inject some epoxy in to them and let them dry. Sand any rough spots. Apply bottom paint. Launch. Go sailing. If anyone mentions blisters again, drink rum until they can't be heard anymore.

Or spend lots and lots of money and have the bottom ground out and redone. Screw that, I say.

·
moderate?
1,000 Posts
Consider your head chewed off. :D

FROM ZAHNISERS CRAIG BUMGARNER