SailNet Community banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I realize this isn't the most amazing craftsmanship there is, but I'm pretty proud of it.

I've never done any woodworking before, just some carpentry. This was surprisingly difficult to do, especially since each side of the ladder had to be shaped separately to fit the hull. It took a lot of self educating and research.

Marine hardwood plywood, sealed with 4 coats of epoxy, then two coats of varnish for UV resistance. It weighs 15 pounds, which is light enough to pick up one handed.

No fasteners, the rungs are set into routed slots on each ladder side.

This only fits on the starboard side, which I'm fine with. It stows on the cabin roof butted up against the mast.

Now that I know a little more of what I'm doing, I'll build my next one out of a nice hardwood. But that will be for the next boat.

·
Registered
525 Posts
Very nice! That is some great craftsmanship. You Sir, have skills!

I would offer that you should keep a close eye on the notch for the toerail. That will wear with load and will eventually rub through the epoxy coat. A small sacrifical liner, like the cover from an old halyard placed over the toerail might help a lot.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks everyone. It does have a few flaws in person, and I wish I'd done it in hardwood, but I had more confidence playing with plywood for my first time. And as it was I had to scrap my first attempt.

Very nice! That is some great craftsmanship. You Sir, have skills!

I would offer that you should keep a close eye on the notch for the toerail. That will wear with load and will eventually rub through the epoxy coat. A small sacrifical liner, like the cover from an old halyard placed over the toerail might help a lot.
Thanks, that's a good point and good idea. I may glue some silicone hose to the inside of the notch, or use a halyard sheath.