SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

I want to retire to a sailboat

9K views 52 replies 20 participants last post by  Kayakeur 
#1 ·
Hi all...
I love the ocean.. near the ocean is the only place ive ever been happy. Unfortunately my family lives in the mountains (we've lived all over the florida and texas coasts before and ive lived on the coast in florida a lot)... not a fan of the people.. love the mountains but never been happy here. But .. family...
I really want to retire to a sailboat. A morgan out island 41 is my dream boat. I do not know how to sail. But im a trucker... to you a 12 foot car is challenging. To me a 48 foot trailer on a 26 foot truck is small.... wont be a problem.

When i retire .. i want it to be about me finally and i want to visit as many countries as i can. But i need to pay for $100,000 in tuitions etc so i cant just put money into retirement. I want to know how much income id need to retire aboard a sailboat and see the world (coastally mostly). Im hyperfit.. can do most maintenance myself. Have no desire to sit in a marina or eat out at restaurants there. You know the "i was a stock broker who inherited 2 mil from mommy" lifestyle. I just want to sail the coasts , meet people the world over and not starve or run out of beer/vodka. What would this lifestyle cost? A note im a programmer/trucker and a geek so ill be spending money on internet at ports haha. But ive seen estimates from very reasonable (a post on this forum seems VERY realistic) to trust fund kiddies claiming you must have 300k a year and the latest boat ...... I need reality. I can live on a boat or i can buy a cheap house on the intercoastal.. i have 12 years to decide and i need real liveaboards to give me the good and bad news.

See less See more
#2 ·