SailNet Community banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dear Folks,

I recently retired to Hawaii. Though I owned many powerboats over the years, I had not sailed since learning on C-Larks in the 1970's.

In the last seven months, I have taken two sailing classes at UH Manoa. Certified in Cal 20, and spent sometime on a J-24.

I have been volunteering with the Sea Scouts, helping the kids learn to sail FJ's and Lasers.

I am looking for a boat to go day sailing on the Leeward side of Oahu, fair weather and calm seas only. As I gain experience and confidence, I may venture to go inter island cruising.

I have ~$10K to spend on a boat. I need it to be easy to single hand, or with complete novices to help.

I have a good local sailor to do a quick and dirty inspection. I have a good local surveyor.

Any advice on your first sailboat, and what you learned would be appreciated.

Aloha,
Bruce

·
Registered
545 Posts
You know more about boats and sailing than I do.
I can only repeat what I have read in my attempt to prepare for a purchase and a long voyage. 10 K for the purchase and another 10 K for the refit, then you can take your life in your hands and hope you did everything right.
Do not forget I am paranoid and know little or nothing about sailboats.

·
Registered
3,262 Posts
Bruce,

Honestly I can think of a lot of boats that may fit your needs, but living in Hawaii I think you are really stuck with what you can find locally. I just don't see any way to buy a boat and ship it down economically. Check the yacht clubs and sailing schools, and see what you can find on the island, because while I can think of a lot of great $10,000 boats, the number of great boats that could be bought and shipped down for $10,000 includes almost nothing.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks for the input.

I agree, there's no practical way to buy a boat on the mainland and ship it, so it is local boats only.