SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
652 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Got up on the hard and in her custom fitted cradle. It just rocks a bit and makes me nervous. this is my first year with the boat. I can (should be able to do whatever as far as walking around and working down below) without worrying about tipping the damn thing over? Assuming its done properly?

·
Registered
4,304 Posts
You really need a picture so we can see what you see BUT the boat should NOT budge if the cradle has been set on level ground

If the cradle is rocking on the surface it was placed on you should be able to shim the offending corner

·
Registered
652 Posts
Discussion Starter #3

this is from last year but its the same cradle just in a different location. the boat itself is not rocking between supports. just that it will have movement if trying to shift ones weight from side to side.

·
Registered
585 Posts
I would think rocking isn't good on any large boat up on stands. All you need is a big gust or some sudden weight shift and disaster would be looming...

I don't like the stand on the blocks like you have it while sitting on grass. One good rain and sinking will occur and we know what's next...

·
One of None
8,045 Posts
Glad you finally got the hang of posting pics! I would not use those blocks! Solid wood blocking but not single web cinder block! Cutey your daughter is. Awwww :)

·
Registered
1,555 Posts
Glad you finally got the hang of posting pics! I would not use those blocks! Solid wood blocking but not single web cinder block! Cutey your daughter is. Awwww :)
I agree. Those should be wood blocks. I always cringe when I see people use cinder blocks under cars. Boats weigh considerably more. At least they are turned the correct way to handle a load.

Have someone else walk around in the boat and look to see what may be moving.

·
Registered
652 Posts
Discussion Starter #8