SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
5,097 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The sailing season is officially over for us in CT. So unless I can find something this winter someplace warm I'm back to the regular office grind until the spring.

As a sailing instructor, I would like to offer the maximum benefit for my students. We recently had a thread where the consensus seems to be that folks can learn how to sail by themselves and maybe a class can help a little. I don't disagree. If people are going to insist on paying me to learn to sail I figure I should do the best I can to at least save them some time and mention things that might not be in the book or are not obvious and common sense.

The following is the list of possibly useful tips that wouldn't be in a typical book that I previously posted plus a few more.
Also, some items that are in the book but don't seem to translate to real life.

What would you like to recommend that I add?

Engine
1. If you switch the main power switch to off while the engine is running on many boats you will fry the diodes and the alternator will no longer work.
2. If you have trouble starting the engine; shut off the raw-water thru-hull so you don't pump water into the cylinders. You have a plenty of time to open it up if it starts.

Navigation
3. How close do you think we will come to that buoy ahead that is leeward to our course. OK, why did it look like we had 150' clearance but only missed it by 20'.
4. Why did I ask you to call for the bridge even though four other boats are ahead of us and we heard them all call?
5. Why did I ask you to make a wide turn a dozen boat lengths before the bridge before we headed to go through instead of just coming around the corner close to the bridge and going through?
6. Why did I ask you to hang back and not follow a small powerboat through the bridge so we would both be in the span at the same time?
7. There is a ferry a half mile off. Do we have time to cross the channel?