SailNet Community banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All!
After months and months and months of research, searching, looking, poking and prodding...I have finally found the boat I'm going to purchase. It's a 1978 Newport MKII. There's good points and bad points to the boat, but all in all, it's in good shape. (Volvo MD7A low compression issues, which I'll be posting about soon). In the meantime, I've got to buy and install an outboard. Bear with me, I am a total newbie here and I just have some general questions. I know I can pop down to West Marine and probably have them answered, but you guys are all here and fairly friendly. ;)
With an outboard bracket...is there any type of mount I can use temporarily without drilling into the transom?
If no and I have to drill holes, can this be done at the dock with a drill and the proper caulk, parts, etc?
The inboard MD7A runs, but rough and I must get the boat from San Francisco up to Suisun. I have a friend who will let me borrow his outboard, but I'll need to purchase a bracket. Or the other option is to find an outboard on craigslist, which I've seen several already....Any input would be great!

·
Registered
1,720 Posts
I think this is an acceptable idea for the protected waters inside the bay and there should be no problem with the installation of the bracket while the boat is in the water. Just be careful with your stability and the electrical cords an connections over the water. I like to tie the cord in a way that it can not reach the water.

·
Remember you're a womble
2,328 Posts
Is there not a mechanic near where the boat is now that could at least look at the inboard and try to get it running smoother before you go drilling holes in your new boat?

·
Registered
3,007 Posts
if the inboard runs and will power the boat to get it docked then sail it there

·
Registered
Corsair 24
4,594 Posts